counter Skip to content

The Mac OS X team rewarded by Wired.

logomacitynet1200wide 1

As happened a long time ago, the Rave Awards of the hyper-technological Wired magazine just can't forget Apple.For the fourth edition, the newspaper announced the winners, among the nominees of the thirteen categories listed on page 56 of the February issue currently on newsstands. the award for the best "software design" is brought home with the OS X development team; unfortunately the other nomination in the "industrial design" category assigned to Apple, more precisely to the industrial design team, that of Jonathan Ive who produced the new iMac LCD, was not equally awarded. On the side we also report the presence of an Italian politician in the "politician" section. We remember the nominations, with the respective winners (in bold):ARCHITECTTadao Ando (Modern Art Museum – Fort Worth, Texas); Zaha Hadid (Bergisel Ski Jump – Innsbruck, Austria); Hiroshi Hara (Sapporo Dome – Sapporo, Japan); Steven Holl (Simmons Hall, MIT – Cambridge, Massachusetts); Christopher Sharples, William Sharples, Coren Sharples, Kimberly Holden and Gregg Pasquarelli (SHoP Architects) (Rector Street Pedestrian Bridge – New York City).ARTIST / PERFORMERNatalie Jeremijenko (Feral – Robotic Dogs); Rafael Lozano (Hemmer -Two Origins); Baz Luhrmann and Catherine Martin (La Bohme); Steve Reich and Beryl Korot (Three Tales); Ben Rubin and Mark Hansen (Listening Post)AUTHORAlbert-Lszl Barabsi (Linked: The New Science of Networks); Paul Di Filippo (Babylon Sisters); Ben Mezrich (Bringing Down the House); Gregory Stock (Redesigning Humans: Our Inevitable Genetic Future); Stephen Wolfram (A New Kind of Science)businesspersonJeff Bezos (Founder, CEO and Chairman,; Reed Hastings (Cofounder and CEO, Netflix); David Neeleman (Founder and CEO, JetBlue Airways); Larry Probst (CEO and Chairman, Electronic Arts); Eric Schmidt, CEO and Chairman / Larry Page, Cofounder and President, Technology / Sergey Brin, Cofounder and President, Products (Google)FILM DIRECTORSpike Jonze (Adaptation); Hayao Miyazaki (Spirited Away); Sam Raimi (Spider-Man); Steven Soderbergh (Full Frontal, Solaris); Steven Spielberg (Minority Report)GAME DESIGNERShun Arai (Jet Set Radio Future – Smilebit / SEGA); Leslie Benzies (Grand Theft Auto: Vice City – Rockstar Games); Shigeru Miyamoto (Super Mario Sunshine – Nintendo); Toshihiro Nagoshi (Super Monkey Ball 2 – SEGA); Will Wright (The Sims Online – Electronic Arts)INDUSTRIAL DESIGNERThe Apple Industrial Design Team, iMac (Apple); Chris Borroni-Bird and Ed Welburn, Hy-wire and AUTOnomy concept car (General Motors); Naoto Fukasawa and IDEO Japan, CD Player (Muji); Teiyu Goto, Vaio W (Sony); Matias Duarte, Joe Palmer and Andy Johnston, hiptop (Danger and Function Engineering)MUSICIANBoards of Canada (Geogaddi); Dan the Automator (Laika Come Home); Eminem (The Eminem Show); Paul Oakenfold (Bunkka); Wilco (Yankee Hotel Foxtrot)PoliticianCongressman Rick Boucher (D – Virginia); Senator Maria Cantwell (D – Washington); Marco Cappato (Member, European Parliament); Tara Sue Grubb, Congressional Candidate 2002 (L – North Carolina); Attorney General Eliot Spitzer (D – NewYork)SCIENTISTAngela Belcher (biomolecular materials, MIT); Jeffrey Hangst, anti-atomic physics (University of Aarhus / ATHENA Experiment, CERN); Sean Morrison, stem cell biology (University of Michigan) and Cofounder (Cancer Stem Cell Genomics); Craig Venter, genomics (The Institute for Genomics Research); Stephen Wolfram, CEO (Wolfram Research)

SOFTWARE DESIGNERThe Apple OS X team (Apple); Butler Lampson and Chuck Thacker, Tablet PC (Microsoft); Christopher Montgomery, Ogg Vorbis (Xiphophorus Foundation); Ray Ozzie, Groove (Groove Networks); Jordan Ritter, SpamNet (Cloudmark)TV CREATORJ.J. Abrams, Alias ​​(ABC); Robert Cochran and Joel Surnow, 24 (Fox); Simon Fuller, American Idol (Fox); Steven Spielberg, Taken (Sci Fi); Anthony Zuiker, CSI (CBS)WIRED RENEGADE OF THE YEARMiguel de Icaza, Mono Project (Ximian); Senator John McCain (R – Arizona); David Neeleman, Founder and CEO (JetBlue Airways); Sherron Watkins, former Vice President of Corporate Development (Enron); Stephen Wolfram, Scientist and CEO (Wolfram Research) Author, A New Kind of Science.